top of page
  • Writer's picturegav

Jack Harlow's Mission

I lost my pants as well as my entire mind at this Denver show.

This was from Jack's show at the Bluebird in Denver, CO (a completely underrated venue, by the way).

I'm joking, I didn't really lose my virginity or my pants (calm down, Dad). But I do have to acknowledge the fact that Jack Harlow's performance was more than I could have ever expected from the upcoming Louisville-based rapper -- knocked my socks off, for sure.


After the release of his newest album Confetti, Jack Harlow's career skyrocketed to the forefront of the hip-hop conversation. His album featured his potential, ranging from absolute bops like GHOST to the sweet baby-makin' grooves of ICE, giving the concert a wide range of feelings and dance moves. Still, the show wasn't nearly as packed as I thought it would be. I've been to the same area for bands like Whitney and Half Alive, and both bands were able to pack the tiered venue like a can of sardines. It turned out to be good fortune for Holly and I since we were able to freely get down and dirty with our bad selves to Harlow's performance.

To the right is a snippet of Harlow's live performance of CODY BANKS, which is probably the first song of Harlow's that Holly showed me. The video speaks volumes about how truly powerful and hype the concert was. Everyone was jumping and waving, and tons of fans knew majority of the songs word-for-word.

This brings us to Harlow's stage presence, which is completely different from any new rapper I have seen live (except for king Tobi Lou). He interacts with his audience, showing what feels like appreciation and gratitude from a growing artist. At one point, he gave in to the audience requesting a song that wasn't even on his set list. His energetic passion with the audience and shouting lyrics with them only fueled the chemistry in the venue that night. Every song he performed was packed with power and straight fire, needing the same amount of energy from the audience.


The video on the left is Jack Harlow's SUNDOWN, which is another powerful classic from his 2018 Loose album. The energy in the room was through the roof. Plus, Jack Harlow showed the full potential of where his career could possibly go from here. Performing songs both old and new, Harlow showed the evolution of his music over time. It was interesting to hear how differently his albums sound over the years, but Harlow revealed to keep some trademark tokens.

Bottom line: If you have the opportunity to see Jack Harlow live, I highly recommend doing it before he inevitably gets bigger. His energy is absolutely infectious, and his music makes for a fun night of friends and dancing. Most importantly, the show feels entirely his, void of outside influence or interference. It featured his favorite songs, even in the house playlist before he came onstage. His show has been marked as one for the books on my list, and I would see him again on his next tour in a heartbeat.


Does this review remind you of a high-energy show you've been to? Comment below about your favorite shows, and let me know if any interesting artist tours have been on your radar.

60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page